Home
/
WordPress Tutorial
/
WordPress Automatic Migrator

WordPress Automatic Migrator

In this tutorial, we will show you how to use the SiteGround Migrator plugin to move a WordPress site from any other hosting company to your SiteGround account. Note that this solution is not suitable for migrating from a localhost environment and Multisite installations!

The process is very straightforward and easy to follow. Read on for detailed instructions.

Step 1: Generate a migration token in SiteGround Site Tools

First, you need to generate a Migration Token that will tell our system to which account and folder you want to transfer your site. To start, go to your Site Tools > WordPress > Migrator.

Select the domain you want to use from the drop-down menu and add a path if needed (if your WordPress site is installed on yourdomain.com/blog for example). Click on Generate.

You will receive a long string of symbols – the Migration Token. It’s unique per each transfer and has all the information our system needs to start moving your files and databases. Click on Copy to save it for the next step.

Step 2: Install SiteGround migrator plugin to your WordPress

Once you have the Migration Token, log in to the WordPress installation you want to move to SiteGround. Install and activate the free SiteGround Migrator plugin from the official WordPress plugin repository.

Important! Make sure that your WordPress application has a valid email so you can receive notifications about the success of your transfer (You can edit your admin email in your WordPress admin panel > Settings > General tab).

Step 3: Paste the migration token in the plugin to start the migration

Once you have the plugins installed, select the SG Migrator menu on your left column.

Now, paste the Migration Token you’ve generated in the first step and press Initiate Transfer.

That’s it! Our system will create a copy of your account, move it to our servers and install it for you. You can follow the progress in the plugin interface:

Step 4: Check your website and update NS records to finish the migration

Once the transfer is finished, you will receive instructions on how to complete it both on the confirmation screen and via email. We create a temporary URL for each transferred site that can be used for 48 hours to check how the site looks and functions in the new location. If everything looks OK on the temporary link, we recommend switching the DNS settings of the domain to point to your SiteGround account. The new DNS settings will be displayed in the plugin and in the email, we’ll send you. You can also get the DNS settings at any time from your SiteGround My Account.

Important! We recommend that no changes are made to the site for 48 hours after switching DNS setting to avoid data loss during propagation time.

Of course, if you are transferring your site to a domain that is already pointing to SiteGround, you do not need to make changes to the DNS settings after the transfer.

Share This Article