Home
/
How To Use SiteGround Staging Tool
/
Full and Custom Deploy of your Staging site

Full and Custom Deploy of your Staging site

There are two options to push your staging copy to your live site. In this tutorial, you find detailed information on how to use both ways for best results.

How to access the deployment options

Using the Full Deploy option

With a single click, you will overwrite your staging copy over your live site. In this process, both the files and the database of the live site will be replaced with the ones from your staging copy.

In case you don’t want to make a full deployment to live, you can use the Custom Deploy functionality instead.

Using the Custom Deploy option

It will compare all changes you’ve made to the files and database of your staging copy with the current state of your live site.

This option is suitable in many cases. For example, if your visitors have commented on some of your WordPress posts, you wouldn’t want to overwrite your _comments table. This way of pushing your changes live gives you all the flexibility you need. You have control on every part of the copy that will be deployed to live. Here is a list of site elements you can select whether to be deployed to live or not:

  • To be Added – all modifications on the files and folders of your staging copy will be displayed so you can select what exactly to push to live;
  • To be Updated – if any database tables are modified you will be able to select whether to push those changes to the live site or not table by table;
  • To be Deleted – any files/folder which you do not want to be deployed on your live site.

Important If the WordPress version of the staging website is lower than the live site’s one the push to live functionality will not work. Make sure to update the WordPress core of the staging copy to the latest available version before you push to live.

Share This Article