How do I cancel my hosting account?

Account cancellation requests are processed directly through your SiteGround Customer Area.

Please log in to your Customer Area, go to the Billing section and click on Billing - Cancellation. Follow the steps to request and confirm your account cancellation.

If you choose to cancel your account immediately, we strongly recommend that you back up the files you need before your final confirmation.

You find this article useful? Click here to learn more about SiteGround web hosting experts and what else we can do for you!

26 Comments

  1. Reply June 30, 2015 / 08:46 Praveen AsokSiteGround Team

    Dear Siteground:

    I have a hosting account. I want to cancel the hosting and continue with the domain name. How do I do that.

    Praveen Asok

    • Reply June 30, 2015 / 11:40 Hristo PandjarovSiteGround Team

      Please, contact us via the Live Chat link on top of the site. My colleagues will assist you happily 🙂

  2. Reply September 1, 2015 / 13:44 ChitraSiteGround Team

    Dear siteground,
    I need to change my domain name only, keeping old blog content same, along with WordPress settings and other settings same. How can I do that. I have registered new domain name in godaddy. Please let me know.

    • Reply September 1, 2015 / 14:32 escalationsSiteGround Team

      I would suggest you contacting our support team directly via the help desk under your user area so that you can have all your questions addressed. The inquiry itself as you have stated it is not completely clear. WordPress is domain dependent application and if you plan to change the domain name for it, the settings should be modified. All content will remain intact, but will be accessed on URLs with the new domain you have set. Detailed instructions how to change the WordPress URL can be found in our tutorial here:

      https://www.siteground.com/tutorials/wordpress/change-url.htm

  3. Reply May 14, 2016 / 02:25 Ken Weill LumacadSiteGround Team

    When a hosting account is cancelled, do you refund in full (when hosting is less than 30 days) ?

    • Reply May 14, 2016 / 07:51 Ivan StefanovSiteGround Team

      Ken, according to SiteGround Terms of Service 30 day Money Back Guarantee applies to all shared hosting plans.

  4. Reply June 15, 2016 / 18:02 Kate GowanSiteGround Team

    Hi there.

    I've cancelled my domain and hosting on line as I find it challenging as a newbie. Could you please let me know if I've done everything required? I would like to be refunded as much as possible, please.

    Thank you.

    Kate Gowan

    • Reply June 16, 2016 / 07:41 Ivan StefanovSiteGround Team

      Kate, according to our 30 day Money Back Guarantee, we've already issued full refund for your hosting account.

      Thank you for using our services, and good luck with your website!

  5. Reply June 22, 2016 / 01:28 JasonSiteGround Team

    Hi! I just canceled my account under 30 days of my initial purchase. Is the refund automatically applied? Now that my account is canceled, I can not open a ticket online.

    Thank you!

    • Reply June 23, 2016 / 10:18 Marina YordanovaSiteGround Team

      Hello, yes, a refund has already been issued. It may take some time before it appears on your bank statement.

  6. Reply July 23, 2016 / 11:02 quicknbaSiteGround Team

    Hello Siteground Team,

    I want to ask you if I cancel my account (I'm under 30 days) will i get my money back and what should I do to cancel my account?

    Best regards.

    • Reply July 25, 2016 / 15:11 escalationsSiteGround Team

      We have a 30 days money back guarantee. You can cancel your account via the Billing section under your user area.

  7. Reply November 25, 2016 / 20:38 Cara R.SiteGround Team

    I'm pad in full through October 2017. If I cancel services, will I receive a partial refund? If so, how is that calculated? TIA!

    • Reply November 29, 2016 / 16:05 Ivan StefanovSiteGround Team

      Cara, this actually depends when your account was created initially, but if you're eligible for refund according to our ToS we will provide you with such. You can verify that with our Chat operators.

  8. Reply November 30, 2016 / 05:26 Michel NSiteGround Team

    Hi,
    i have an account since Nov. 12, 2016. I want to cancel the account and get a full refund since i am under 30 days.
    The only thing i need to do is -> Please log in to your Customer Area, go to the Billing section and click on Billing - Cancellation. ??
    The refund will be issued then automatically? or is there an additional step i need to do?
    thanks!

    • Reply December 1, 2016 / 09:34 Ivan StefanovSiteGround Team

      Michel, on Step 3 of the cancellation process you will see a confirmation of the refund amount you are entitled to get. Once you click on "Confirm Cancellation" the refund will be sent back to your CC on file.

  9. Reply December 17, 2016 / 16:04 AnnaSiteGround Team

    Hi! My renewal was just processed but I do not need the service. If i cancel services will i recive my money back?

    • Reply December 20, 2016 / 12:55 Hristo PandjarovSiteGround Team

      Please, contact us via the Live Chat.

  10. Reply February 11, 2017 / 12:17 Daniela GuerraSiteGround Team

    Hej! As a mistake I upgraded my Startup account to GrowBig. I immediately cancelled the upgrade from my control panel, can I get a refund of the cancelled upgrade?

    Thanks!

    • Reply February 13, 2017 / 15:17 Ivan AtanasovSiteGround Team

      Daniela, this needs to be reviewed by our team so it is a good idea to contact us via a LiveChat session as soon as possible so that we can determine the conditions.

  11. Reply March 12, 2017 / 09:44 J. TesolinSiteGround Team

    Very disappointed that the above did not actually cancel my account when I followed teh steps earlier this month!!!!! Just got an email that account was expired due to non payment?! If someone cancels, tell the person that it has now been cancelled as asked! Will definitely think twice about coming back!

    • Reply March 13, 2017 / 15:36 Ivan AtanasovSiteGround Team

      It is possible that the message our system sent was misunderstood. I believe that you chose to cancel the account at it's expiration date - meaning, you chose not to renew the account but use it until it expires.

      The account expired since it was not renewed manually. This means that the steps actually worked and you were not billed automatically. Instead, the account entered the cancellation process, the expiration of the account is the first step of the cancellation process you chose to initiate.

      Still, if you need more details, please create from our Help Desk so that we can offer the exact situation with the cancelled account.

  12. Reply March 13, 2017 / 20:04 Chloey MSiteGround Team

    How long does it take for the refund to be issued?

    • Reply March 14, 2017 / 12:23 Ivan AtanasovSiteGround Team

      If an account is eligible for a refund, such will be issued immediately after the cancellation has been approved/confirmed. However, there is no set time when the funds will reach the origin card/bank.

      This is to be expected, since it is possible that intermediary banks will be involved in the transaction. We have no control over this and it is why we cannot provide you with an exact time when you will receive the refund.

  13. Reply March 20, 2017 / 17:52 ImkeSiteGround Team

    Is het necessary to give notice that you don't want to renew your account? As in, if you are in your last month before your account is going to expire, can you just let to expire it or is there a month "notice"?

    • Reply March 21, 2017 / 15:45 Ivan AtanasovSiteGround Team

      If you are planning on letting your account to expire, you can contact us in a Live Chat session and our customer care representatives will explain everything, as well as make sure that the cancellation will be processed upon the expiration of your account.

* (Required)