Privacy and friends
The .tel system allows you to store encrypted private contact information. The .tel service uses advanced 1024-bit encryption which is extremely difficult to be compromised. When you make a part of your contact information private, it is encrypted. You and the friends who have the authorization to view the private information will need a corresponding key to decode it. The key is generated when you accept a request to show your private information to an identified individual. For this functionality to work both you and the person requesting the information should be identified by the global TelFriends system with a unique username and a password. The subscription to the TelFriends system is free and the ownership of a .tel domain is not required. In this way the visitors of your .tel will be able to log in and request a friendship, which will allow them to see your private contact information.
The private information can be kept only under the main folder. The information under the subfolders is public. Keywords and the location can not be encrypted in the DNS. They are public.
By default all the information is public.
There are 3 ways to make a certain information private:
- During the creation of a contact information item you can define whether is it public or private.
- You can edit a contact information item and change its access rule to private.
- You can add contact information items to groups of individuals on the Privacy page.
You can easily change the private information back to public. You can either remove the corresponding items from all private groups on the Privacy page or you can edit them in the Dashboard.
The Privacy page consists of two columns. The left column is named Friends in group. There you can add more friends and remove existing ones. The right column is called Items in group. More items can be added as private or the listed ones can be removed.
The default groups are All Friends and Family. These groups allow a simple way of sharing the private information with your friends (for example personal email addresses or a link to your residential address). You can create different groups and share separate contact information in them. This will allow you to put different individuals in these groups and define the information visible for them. The groups' names and the users under the defined group will not be publicly available, so the users will not know who else is in their group.
You can rename or delete any group except All Friends which is a default list of all your friends.
A new group can be created from the Groups drop-down menu ->Create new group. Enter the group name and click on the Save button.
Friends can be added to multiple groups. You can add a friend from Friends in group -> Add.
If a friend is a member of more than one group, he/she will see the private information available for the members of these groups.
In order to add contact information to a group pick it from the Groups drop-down menu. If the item you want to include is public, adding it to a group of friends makes it private automatically.
Items can be added from Items in group->Add. Select the items which you want to add and click on the Add selected button.
A visitor can send a friend request from the .tel page.
Once the request is received, you can see it in the management panel.
Click on the Accept friend invitation icon to allow the user an access to your private details associated with the corresponding group.
The list of friends' requests is limited to 20 records. You can either accept or decline them. The requests will be removed from the list. You should click on the Check New button to see whether there are new requests waiting for your attention. A notification is sent only if you accept a friend request.
Your new friend can log in your .tel and check the corresponding private information.
You can also send a friend request to another .tel domain owner. This can be completed from the Friends tab->Messages->Send.