How to Manage your Staging Copies

Lean what can you do with the staging copy of your website

To start managing your Staging copy, first, open the SiteGround Staging too. In it, you will see a list of all the sites you have listed in the tool. If you have created a staging copy of any of those sites, you will see the Manage Staging Copies button next to it. Simply press it to proceed.

Once you access the Staging management page it will look like this:

Here, you can do the following actions with your staging copy:

  • Push to Live - once you are done making changes to your staging copy and you're happy with the result, you can press this button and replace your live site with the staging copy. For more information on that matter, please refer to our Basic and Advanced Push to Live Tutorial;
  • Destroy Copy - press this button if you want to delete your staging copy;
  • Replicate - this button will clone your current staging copy. That's useful when you want to test something without having to make all the changes you've made to the staging copy since you've created it;
  • Password Protection - if you haven't password protected your staging copy during it's creation, or you want to change your password, you can do this by pressing that button. Read more on this topic;
  • Admin Panel - shortcut to the admin panel of your staging WordPress or Joomla application
  • Create a Git Repo - this button will create a Git repository for your staging copy. Check out our SG-Git Tutorial for more information on how to use Git with your SiteGround account;